top of page


Frankie Andreu 1988,1992,1996

John Coyle 1994 (Medalist)
Tom O’ Rourke 1954

Tom Schuler 1980

Bob Travani 1948
Karl Wetburg 1954

Sheila Young 1976 (Medalist)

Roger Young


Sue Novara-Reber
Connie Paraskevin-Young
Sheila Young


Pat Aimone - Frankie Andreu - Lisa Andreu

Celeste Andreu - Andrew Astalos

Carole Brennan - Jonas Carney
Theresa Cliff-Ryan - Billy Freund

Barb Hintzen - Kacey Manderfield

Danielle Mullis - Brandon Lyons

Sue Novara-Reber - Tom O’Rourke

Stephanie Parkes - Anne Phillips

Connie Paraskevin-Young
Michael Roland - Sue Schaugg

Tom Schuler - Judy Smouter

Bob Travani - Doris Travani

Karl Wettburg - Sheila Young

Roger Young


Much of the WSC’s success is owed to the club’s thriving racing program. Based on the coaching regime designed and implemented by Mike Walden (USA Cycling Hall of Fame coach), the racing program targets the specific needs of athletes ranging from entry-level racers to national-and international-caliber cyclists.

The program has produced more than 100 National Champions, 300 National medalists, and several Olympic and Pan Am athletes. The legacy of Wolverine champions includes professional athletes such as Frankie Andreu, who competed in 9 Tour de France races, including the two US Postal Team victories in 1999 and 2000 with Lance Armstrong.  World class athletes including Sue Novara-Reber (two-time World Champion), Connie Paraskevin-Young (four-time World Champion and 1988 Olympic bronze medalist), John Coyle (1994 Olympic medalist) and Sheila Young (three-time World Champion), all began as Wolverines.  A champion speed-skater, Young also collected three medals, including gold  at the 1976 Winter Olympics.


The Wolverine Sports Club started as the Wolverine Wheelman in 1888. The club was based in Detroit and continued until it became a victim of the Great Depression in 1931. In 1934, Jack Fletcher reorganized the club and registered it with the ABL (Amateur Bicycle League of America) later USCF now USA Cycling and it enjoys continued prosperity.

In 1937, the club’s headquarters became Mike Walden’s Continental Bike Shop in Detroit, and followed the shop's moves ending up in Hazel Park. In 1949, a board of directors was established to guide the club philosophically. Other sports that were a part of the club at this time were: hockey, boxing, track and field, speedskating, and Nordic skiing. 

In 1950, WSC merged with the Berkley Speedskating Club and grew considerably in size. In 1972, cross-country skiing was added as a major sport and the club assumed it’s current form and became known as the Wolverine Sports Club.

WSC was voted the United States Cycling Federation’s Club of the Year in 1991. Up to that time 28% of all National medal winners came from WSC. In 1997 the WSC became a non-profit 501(c) (3) corporation. 

bottom of page